Daily Corn and Soybean Basis Maps for Iowa and the Midwest

Updates of the basis maps have been suspended because of technical issues. We hope to resume basis updates as soon as the problem is resolved. Thank you.

On a pilot basis CARD is posting daily basis maps for corn and soybeans. The purpose of this pilot project is to determine if farmer decisions about where to deliver corn and soybeans can be enhanced. We present maps showing both old crop basis and new crop basis. Old crop basis equals the current local cash price minus the nearby futures price on the Chicago Board of Trade. New crop basis equals the local forward price for future delivery less the new crop futures price on the Chicago Board of Trade. Local price data are obtained from DTN. We then employ a spatial smoothing algorithm to develop the maps.

Maps for different days can be obtained using the "Change Date" link below. Also, historical county-average basis patterns for corn and soybeans throughout the year are available. Click on your county in the map below or choose your county from the menu below the map. The basis is computed as the difference between the local cash price for the crop and the nearby futures price on the Chicago Board of Trade. Historical local cash price data was obtained from CashGrainBids.com.

Map date is January 21, 2011calendar Change Date
Basis Map for Iowa Lyon County Sioux County Plymouth County Woodbury County Monona County Harrison County Pottawattamie County Mills County Fremont County Osceola County O'Brien County Cherokee County Ida County Crawford County Shelby County Cass County Montgomery County Page County Dickinson County Clay County Buena Vista County Sac County Carroll County Audubon County Adams County Taylor County Emmet County Palo Alto County Pocahontas County Calhoun County Kossuth County Winnebago County Hancock County Worth County Cerro Gordo County Mitchell County Floyd County Howard County Chickasaw County Winneshiek County Allamakee County Fayette County Clayton County Humboldt County Webster County Greene County Boone County Polk County Dallas County Guthrie County Warren County Madison County Adair County Ringgold County Union County Decatur County Clarke County Lucas County Wayne County Van Buren County Jefferson County Davis County Wapello County Appanoose County Monroe County Lee County Henry County Des Moines County Louisa County Washington County Muscatine County Johnson County Scott County Cedar County Clinton County Jackson County Dubuque County Delaware County Buchanan County Jones County Linn County Story County Marshall County Tama County Poweshiek County Marion County Jasper County Mahaska County Keokuk County Iowa County Benton County Bremer County Butler County Franklin County Wright County Hamilton County Hardin County Grundy County Black Hawk County County: Basis Map for the Midwest