Iowa State Economists Receive Awards and Honors at International Meeting

Arne Hallam;
Sandy Clarke;

August 14, 2007

Several Iowa State University economics faculty, researchers, and students received awards and honors at the 2007 Joint Annual Meeting of the American Agricultural Economics Association (AAEA), the Western Agricultural Economics Association (WAEA), and the Canadian Agricultural Economics Society (CAES) held in Portland, Oregon, July 29-August 1.

The theme of this year's international meeting, with 1,470 in attendance, was "Applied Economics for Global Issues."

Dermot J. Hayes, professor of economics and of finance and Pioneer Hi-Bred International Chair in Agribusiness, was inducted as an AAEA Fellow at the opening event of the meeting. The designation is reserved for those members who have made "continuous contribution to the advancement of agricultural economics," with only a select few chosen each year.

The CAES Outstanding Journal Article Award went to an article by Catherine Kling and Jinhua Zhao, coauthored with North Carolina A&T State University colleague Lyubov Kurkalova. The article, "Green Subsidies in Agriculture: Estimating the Adoption Costs of Conservation Tillage from Observed Behavior," was published in the June 2006 issue of the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics.

A poster on "Spatial Competition and the Location of the U.S. Ethanol Industry" by Tun-Tsiang (Edward) Yu and Frank Fuller, researchers at the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development, took first place in the poster competition. Second place went to a poster titled "Measuring the Impact of Livestock Operations Using a Hedonic Model: What Kind of Distances Matter?" by former graduate student Tao Ran, Jinhua Zhao, and Louisiana State University colleague Huizhen Niu. Third place went to graduate student Ofir Rubin for his poster, "Assessing the Response of Farm Households to Dairy Policy Reform in Israel."

Chengyan Yue, who finished her doctorate in economics in December, received honorable mention in the AAEA Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award category for her "Three Essays on Food Quality and Transactions Costs."