CARD Award for Best Ph.D. Dissertation in Agricultural, Environmental, and Energy Economics and Policy

award logo

The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding Ph.D. dissertation written by a graduate student in the department of economics with a topic related to one of the focus areas of the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development at Iowa State. All graduate students in the economics department are eligible, regardless of whether they have had any formal relationship with the Center during their graduate studies.

The winner will be chosen by a subcommittee of CARD faculty (each year’s committee will be constituted to avoid conflicts of interest as much as possible), and the award carries a cash prize of $500. A plaque in the CARD suite will be engraved with the student’s name and the student’s work will be highlighted on the CARD web site. While not required, winning students will be invited to work with CARD communications staff to produce an outreach publication from their dissertation that will be highlighted in the CARD Agricultural Policy Review or produced as a CARD Policy Brief. The competition will be held in the spring to choose the winner from the previous calendar year.

To apply, write a concise essay (750 words maximum) describing your research with a focus on how it relates to one of CARD’s focus areas and the policy implications of your work at the state, federal, or international level. This essay will provide the primary basis for the selection of the award. In addition, please submit a copy of your dissertation. To be eligible, the final oral exam needs to have taken place in the 2018 calendar year. Entries will be judged on two criteria: the significance of the potential contribution to policy and the quality of economic analysis used to develop the findings.

Please send applications by March 15, 2018 to Karen Kovarik and Cathy Kling for consideration.

Previous Winners:
2019: Zehui Jiang
2018: Hyunseok Kim
2017: María Jimena González Ramírez
2016: Younjun Kim & Matthew Clancy
2015: Hocheol Jeon
2014: Adriana Valcu