Hayes wins faculty mentor award

Professor Dermot Hayes has been announced as a winner of the 2020 Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award.

The Exemplary Faculty Mentor Award, given by the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost, recognizes faculty mentors who go above and beyond the formal expectations of Iowa State’s mentoring program and have demonstrated exemplary mentoring of junior faculty. Hayes was nominated by Wendong Zhang and Lei Gao for the positive impact he has made in their lives and careers.

Throughout his distinguished career, Hayes has won numerous awards for both his teaching and research, including the Iowa State University J.H. Ellis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Introductory Teaching and the VEISHA Faculty Member of the Year for the College of Agriculture.

(Released May 2020)