picture banner

Economic Measures of Interventions: Building a Framework for Prioritizing Opportunities to Reduce Food Safety Risk

Workshop held at the University of Massachusetts
Amherst, Massachusetts, December 2 and 3, 2004

Participant List

Last Initial: A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Dr. Fred Angulo
Chief, FoodNet/NARMS Unit
Foodborne and Diarrheal Diseases Branch
National Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2520 Oak Crossing Drive
Decatur, GA 30033
ph: 404-371-5405
fax: 404-371-5444
FAngulo@cdc.gov

Mr. Michael Batz
Research Associate
Resources for the Future
1616 P Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
ph: 202-328-5020
fax: 202-939-3460
mbatz@rff.org

Dr. Julie A. Caswell
Department of Resource Economics
University of Massachusetts
80 Campus Center Way
215 Stockbridge Hall
Amherst, MA 01003
ph: 413-545-5735
fax: 413-545-5853
caswell@resecon.umass.edu

Ms. Caroline Smith DeWaal
Director, Food Safety Program
Center for Science in the Public Interest
1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW, #300
Washington, DC 20009
ph: 202-332-9110
fax: 202-265-4954
csmithdewaal@cspinet.org

Dr. James S. Dickson
Professor
Iowa State University
215F Meat Lab, Dept. of Animal Science
Ames, IA 50011
ph: 515-294-4733
fax: 515-294-5066
jdickson@iastate.edu

Dr. Michael P. Doyle
Regents Professor and Director
University of Georgia
Center for Food Safety
1109 Experiment Street
Melton Building
Griffin, GA 30223-1797
ph: 770-228-7284
fax: 770-229-3216
mdoyle@uga.edu

Ms. Seda Erdem
Staff Assistant
Resource Economics Department
University of Massachusetts
80 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003-9246
ph: 413-687-4551
seda@resecon.umass.edu

Dr. Andrew Estrin
Economist
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
Food and Drug Administration
5100 Paint Branch Parkway
College Park, MD 20740
ph: 301-436-1829
aestrin@cfsan.fda.gov

Dr. John C. Galland
Head, Research Division
Western Institute for Food Safety & Security (WIFSS)
Mail stop #1409
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
ph: 530-757-5760
fax: 530-297-6304
jcgalland@ucdavis.edu or jcgalland@wifss.ucdavis.edu

Dr. Sandra Hoffmann
Fellow
Resources for the Future
1616 P Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
ph: 202-328-5022
fax: 202- 939-3460
shoffmann@rff.org

Dr. Neal H. Hooker
Assistant Professor
Department of Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics
The Ohio State University
323 Ag Admin, 2120 Fyffe Road
Columbus, OH 43210-1067
ph: 614-292-3549
fax: 614-247-7066
hooker.27@osu.edu

Dr. H. Scott Hurd
Associate Professor
Veterinary Diagnostic & Production Animal Medicine
College of Veterinary Medicine
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011
ph: 515-294-7905
fax: 515-294-1072
shurd@iastate.edu

Dr. Helen H. Jensen
Professor
Department of Economics
Iowa State University
578 Heady Hall
Ames, IA 50011-1070
ph: 515-294-6253
fax: 515-294-6336
hhjensen@iastate.edu

Mr. Derrick Jones
Food Standards Agency (UK)
Room 201 Aviation House 125 Kingsway
London
United Kingdom WC2B 6 NH
ph: 0207 276 8611
fax: 0207 276 8289
derrick.jones@foodstandards.gsi.gov.uk

Dr. Scott A. Malcolm
Assistant Professor
University of Delaware
510 S. College Avenue
Newark, DE 19717
ph: 302-831-1316
fax: 302-831-6243
malcolm@udel.edu

Dr. Marie-Josée J. Mangen
Wageningen University and Research Center
Agricultural Economics Research Institute (LEI)
Postbus 35
Wageningen
The Netherlands 6700 AA
ph: +31-317-479682
fax: +31-317-479661
marie-josee.mangen@wur.nl
and
National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM)
Centre for Prevention and Health Services Research
P.O. Box 1
3720 BA Bilthoven
The Netherlands
ph: +31-30-2743210
fax: +31-30-2744407
marie-josee.mangen@rivm.nl

Dr. Paul E. McNamara
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Agricultural and Consumer Economics
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1301 W. Gregory Drive, 437 Mumford Hall
Urbana, IL 61801
ph: 217-333-3769
fax: 217-333-5538
mcnamar1@uiuc.edu

Dr. Ronald Meekhof
Principal Economist
Food Safety and Inspection Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
300 12th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20250
ph: 202-690-1816
fax: 202-690-0486
ronald.meekhof@fsis.usda.gov

Dr. Gay Miller
Professor
University of Illinois
2001 S. Lincoln Avenue
Urbana, IL 61802
ph: 217-244-3090
fax: 217-244-7421
GYMiller@uiuc.edu

Dr. J. Glenn Morris, Jr.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Room 934 MSTF, 10 S. Pine Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
ph: 410-706-4580
fax: 410-706-4581
jmorris@epi.umaryland.edu

Dr. William E. Nganje
Assistant Professor
North Dakota State University
761 48th Street, SW
Fargo, ND 58103
ph: 701-281-5037
fax: 701-231-7400
wnganje@ndsuext.nodak.edu

Dr. Michael Ollinger
Economist
Economic Research Service
U.S. Department of Agriculture
1800 M Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-5831
ph: 202-694-5454
fax: 202-694-5688
Ollinger@ers.usda.gov

Mr. Diogo Souza Monteiro
Ph.D. Candidate in Resource Economics
Dept. of Resource Economics
Stockbridge Hall 404
80 Campus Center Way
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
ph: 413-546 5994
dsm@resecon.umass.edu

Mr. Michael R. Taylor
Senior Fellow
Resources for the Future
1616 P Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
ph: 202-328-5066
fax: 202-939-3460
taylor@rff.org

Ms. Jody Tick
Research Associate
Resources for the Future
1616 P Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
ph: 202-328-5152
Fax: 202-939-3460
tick@rff.org

Mr. Fuminori Toyasaki
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Finance & Operations Management
Isenberg School of Business
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003
ph: 413-577-2761
toyasaki@hotmail.com

Dr. James L. Wilkus
Senior Economist
USDA FSIS
300 12th Street, SW, Room 112 Annex
Washington, DC 20250
ph: 202-690-4166
fax: 202-690-0486
James.Wilkus@fsis.usda.gov