Download PDF for Spring 2016
Agricultural Policy Review home

Articles from Spring 2016

The Yield Response to Nitrogen: Subjective Belief Bias in Nitrogen Management

Sandip Agarwal (sandip@iastate.edu), Keri Jacobs (kljacobs@iastate.edu), Quinn Weninger (weninger@iastate.edu), and John Sawyer (jsawyer@iastate.edu)
Agricultural scientists and economists have long been interested in quantifying the optimal amount of nitrogen needed on an acre of corn. Notions of optimality are sometimes based on principles of cost and revenue, sometimes on yield targets, and other times on environmental concerns.

Crude Oil Prices and US Crop Exports: Exploring the Secondary Links between the Energy and Ag Markets

Chad Hart (chart@iastate.edu) and Wendong Zhang (wdzhang@iastate.edu)
As crop-based biofuels compete in the energy market, crop prices are directly impacted not only by the relative standing of biofuels in the fuel hierarchy, but also by general shifts in energy supplies and demands. However, there is another distinct way energy markets can impact crop markets—many US international trade partners are reliant on the energy sector as a major source of income.

Reducing Antibiotic Use in Animal Production Systems

Helen H. Jensen (hhjensen@iastate.edu)
The advantages of using antimicrobials in production include prevention of mortality and morbidity especially for young animals, reduced input costs, and reduced variation in growth and final product. However, consumer groups and public health proponents have pushed for the food animal production industry to restrict antimicrobial use.

Research Needs and Challenges in the Food, Energy and Water System: Findings from an NSF Funded Workshop

Catherine L. Kling (ckling@iastate.edu), Raymond W. Arritt (rwarritt@iastate.edu), Gray Calhoun (gcalhoun@iastate.edu), and David A. Keiser (dkeiser@iastate.edu)
In October 2015, the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development hosted a two-day National Science Foundation-funded workshop exploring the challenges and pitfalls associated with integrating biophysical and economic models. The direct product of this workshop is a white paper, which provides guidance to the NSF in formulating future funding initiatives in this area.